When my dream takes the stairs . . .


I drag myself along the steps,
The floors slide by one by one
The time, it moves on, move on it must
And I try to grab that precious moment —
For rest, and not for support

For support there is none,
No,
For I am dragging myself not on my feet,
But on all of myself gut and all . . .
And all that there is of me.

I need to stop,
I need to feel the sunshine in the lonely landing
I need to hear the lonely morning singing of Amore in Julio Iglesias’ voice.
Until I can –
I must let Pain hold my hand
and let her Lock her tender fingers with mine.

About Surya Sunder

Anglophone Bibliophile
This entry was posted in The Stair Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

